‘Fast & Furious’ Franchise Will Receive Generation Award at the 2017 MTV Movie & TV Awards

Universal Pictures

One of the most popular and enduring motion-picture franchises of all time, Fast & Furious, are going to receive top honors at the 2017 MTV Movie & TV Awards this year.

The movie franchise will receive the Generation Award, marking the first time that a film franchise will be honored instead of an individual actor. Past recipients of the award include Will Smith, Reese Witherspoon, Robert Downey Jr., Mark Wahlberg, Sandra Bullock, Jamie Foxx, Johnny Depp, Ben Stiller, Adam Sandler, Mike Myers, Tom Cruise and Jim Carrey.

Star and producer Vin Diesel along with co-stars Michelle Rodriguez, Tyrese Gibson, and Jordana Brewster ware confirmed to accept the award next month.

“We are thrilled to celebrate the ‘Fast & Furious’ franchise and its global contribution to pop culture,” said Amy Doyle, General Manager, MTV, VH1 and Logo.  “From the diverse cast of beloved actors, to the music and fashion, we are honored to present the Generation Award to a franchise that continues to entertain millions of fans across the world.”

In addition to receiving the Generation Award, the franchise will be honored with  special performance by J Balvin and Pitbull with Camila Cabello as they will sing their steamy hit “Hey Ma.” The track is featured in The Fate of the Furious.

Hosted by Adam Devine, the 2017 MTV Movie & TV Awards will air on Sunday, May 7th @ 8PM ET/PT on MTV and all other Viacom networks.

Juliet Schroder

Written by Juliet Schroder

Juliet is the founder and executive producer/host of Celeb Secrets and Celeb Secrets Country. When not reporting on the latest news in pop culture and country music, she enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, and exploring the latest fashion trends.

Juliet holds a B.S. in marketing from St. John's University.