Lettuce Takes Fans Behind-the-Scenes of Making Their New Album with Documentary Series (Exclusive)

Celeb Secrets has your first look to the band’s documentary before anyone else.

Photo Credit: Casey Flanigan

Lettuce is giving fans a backstage pass to see what it was like making their upcoming album, and Celeb Secrets has your first look on what you can expect.

The band will be releasing their sixth studio album Elevate on Friday, June 14th. Maintaining the band’s signature eclectic, free-wheeling approach while embracing a progressive and futuristic vibe, the upcoming record features elements of Pink Floyd, the Grateful Dead, Eno and Miles Davis, thanks to their love of improvisational music and arts.

Premiering exclusively on Celeb Secrets this afternoon, the new video shows saxophonist and band co-founder Ryan Zoidis in the recording studio telling his story on how he became involved in music and the process behind crafting the band’s signature soundIt is part of the six-part behind-the-scenes video series on their YouTube page called The Krewe—A Lettuce Documentary Series filmed during the making of the new album.

“Super excited to share my thoughts with everyone on the making of this record. I can’t wait for everyone to hear it,” Zoidis tells Celeb Secrets. “This record really captures the chemistry of the band currently and sonically it represents us better than any of our records in the past. Russ Elevado encouraged us to stress out and improvise more on this record more than in records past.”

For those of you who don’t know, Zoidis, who hails from Portland, Maine, was signed with Clive Davis at Arista Records with his previous band, Rustic Overtones, where they made a record with longtime David Bowie collaborator Tony Visconti. Bowie contributed to two songs and British singer Imogen Heap one, on that album. He also toured and gigged with the group Soulive for a few years and during that time, he had the opportunity to perform with Stevie Wonder, Chaka Kahn and dozens of other legendary artists. Zoidis appeared on New Orleans’ pianist Jon Cleary’s Grammy Award-winning LP, Go Go Juice, as well as critically acclaimed releases from the likes of J-Live, Aaron Neville, Talib Kweli, and The New Mastersounds.

Lettuce is: Grammy-nominated drummer and percussionist Adam Deitch, guitarist Adam “Shmeeans” Smirnoff, bassist Erick “Jesus” Coomes, Grammy Award-winning keyboardist and vocalist Nigel Hall, Grammy Award-winning saxophonist Ryan Zoidis and Grammy Award-winning trumpet player Eric “Benny” Bloom.

Check out the video above and let us know what you think of Lettuce by leaving a reaction at the bottom of the post or sending us a tweet at @celebsecrets.

Written by Juliet Schroder

Juliet is the founder and executive producer/host of Celeb Secrets and Celeb Secrets Country. When not reporting on the latest news in pop culture and country music, she enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, and exploring the latest fashion trends.

Juliet holds a B.S. in marketing from St. John's University.