LISTEN: Julia Michaels Drops Mini-Album “Nervous System” Today

We’re OBSESSED with every song on it!

Courtesy of Republic Records

Julia Michaels has released her anxiously awaited self-proclaimed “mini-album,” Nervous System [Republic Records], at all digital retailers today!

Upon its release, the seven-song set soared to #2 on iTunes’ Top Pop Albums Chart where it continues to hold strong. Among seven new anthems, it includes the record-breaking smash “Issues” and infectious new single “Uh Huh.”

About Nervous System, Michaels shares, “A lot of my songs have to do with the nervous system and things that are stimulated by touch and emotion. One day, the title just popped into my head. It made sense with how emotional the songs I’ve written are and who I am. Of course, I personally am a fucking nervous system as well, so there’s that,” she laughs.

From the off-kilter nineties-inspired groove of “Make It Up To You” and the urgent breakup anthem “Just Do It” to the hyper-flirty and fiery come hither of “Pink” and the soul-stirring piano and vocal finale “Don’t Wanna Think”—solely penned by Michaels—she further cements her status as one of this generation’s most prolific songwriters and best new acts.

This week, she received her very first MTV VMA nomination for “Best New Artist.” Next up, you can watch MICHAELS hit the stage on NBC’s Today Show August 1st to perform “Issues” and “Uh Huh” and will join Shawn Mendes in Australia and New Zealand for his ILLUMINATE WORLD TOUR.

Written by Juliet Schroder

Juliet is the founder and executive producer/host of Celeb Secrets and Celeb Secrets Country. When not reporting on the latest news in pop culture and country music, she enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, and exploring the latest fashion trends.

Juliet holds a B.S. in marketing from St. John's University.