Nominees & Presenters Announced for the 2nd Annual Alterntive Press Music Awards


The Journeys Alternative Press Music Awards, fueled by Monster Energy Drink, is pleased to announce additional show performers, participants, sponsorship partners and presenters! In addition, Alternative Press Magazine is announcing the launch of their special Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame + Museum exhibit, opening Tuesday, July 21st. Read below for more information on all newly announced details.

In addition to a newly confirmed performance from Corey Taylor of Artist Of The Year nominee Slipknot and Stone Sour, theAPMAs are revealing plans for a special performance featuring four-time nominees PVRIS—fronted by Best Vocalist nomineeLynn Gunn—teaming up with special guest and fellow nominee Tyler Carter of the buzz band Issues.

“We’re so excited to be performing at this year’s APMAs,” says Gunn. “We even have some tricks up our sleeves with our good friend Tyler Carter.”

Carter adds, I’m so excited. We [Issues] were so upset that we all wouldn’t be able to make the APMAs this year due to recording our second studio full length, but I’m just stoked that I get to rock the stage with my girl Lynn and her band. It’s definitely going to be above and beyond! I hope the APMAs are ready!”

Additional live performances include Weezer, Panic! At The Disco, All Time LowSum 41, a special performance from New Found Glory featuring Hayley Williams, Taking Back SundayHalestormBlack Veil Brides, Simple Plan and Motionless In White. The world-renowned Contemporary Youth Orchestra will also be returning to the APMAs to accompany many of the evening’s performances.

In addition to these performances, appearances will be made by members of ‘68, As It IsAugust Burns RedBullet For My ValentineMayday ParadeMotion City SoundtrackParkway DriveReal FriendsSenses FailSet It OffThis Wild Lifeand While She Sleeps with more to be announced soon.

On the eve of this year’s APMAsAlternative Press Magazine will be honored by the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame and Museum with the unveiling of a special new exhibit, Never Give Up: Alternative Press Magazine at 30, presented by Roadrunner Records, Fueled By Ramen and Jakprints. To commemorate the milestone and Alternative Press’ unparalleled 30 years of championing underground music and breaking some of the biggest names into the mainstream, the exhibit will feature a history of the magazine, its best stories and photos, and how the publication contributed a much-needed voice to the underground scene over the years. Special artifacts that will be on display include contact sheets from various photo shoots, cover art from hundreds of issues, letters to Alternative Press Magazine from fans and celebrities, early art work, video interviews with musicians featured over the years, footage from prior award shows and Vans Warped Tours, and more! The exhibit opening will kick-off with a special Sonic Session featuring Danish alt-rock group New Politics and one of AP’s “100 Bands You Need to Know In 2015,” Vinyl Theatre. For more information visit More details on the exhibit and performances are forthcoming.

Voting on all awards is open now via, in addition to the “Best Music Video” award, which can be voted upon exclusively at any Journeys retail location via voter mobile device and store-provided QR codes or ends on July 6, 2015.



Artist Of The Year presented by Monster Energy Drink

  • Against Me!
  • Black Veil Brides
  • Crown The Empire
  • Issues
  • Motionless In White
  • New Found Glory
  • Of Mice & Men
  • Slipknot
  • Taking Back Sunday
  • Weezer

Album Of The Year presented by Journeys

  • Beartooth •  Disgusting
  • Black Veil Brides •  Black Veil Brides
  • Circa Survive •  Descensus
  • Every Time I Die • From Parts Unknown
  • frnkiero andthe cellabration • Stomachaches
  • Gerard Way • Hesitant Alien
  • Issues • Issues
  • La Dispute • Rooms Of The House
  • Linkin Park • The Hunting Party
  • Real Friends • Maybe This Place Is The Same And We’re Just Changing

Artist Philanthropic presented by Sub City / Take Action

  • Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness  • Dear Jack Foundation
  • Bayside  • The Human Rights Campaign
  • Koji  • Doctors Without Borders
  • Jake Luhrs of August Burns Red •  HeartSupport
  • Simple Plan  • The Simple Plan Foundation
  • Taking Back Sunday  • American Cancer Society

Best Live Band presented by Macbeth

  • A Day To Remember
  • letlive.
  • Panic! At The Disco
  • Paramore
  • twenty one pilots
  • The Wonder Years

Breakthrough Band presented by Splat!

  • Beartooth
  • Echosmith
  • Modern Baseball
  • Neck Deep
  • This Wild Life

Song Of The Year presented by Epitaph Records

  • Beartooth • “Beaten In Lips”
  • Motionless In White • “Reincarnate”
  • Real Friends • “I Don’t Love You Anymore”
  • Set It Off  • “Why Worry”
  • Sleeping With Sirens • “Kick Me”
  • PVRIS • “My House”

Best International Band

  • The 1975 (UK)
  • The Amity Affliction (Australia)
  • Marmozets (UK)
  • New Politics (Denmark)
  • Northlane (Australia)
  • Crossfaith (Japan)

Best Music Video presented by Journeys

  • Bring Me The Horizon • “Drown”
  • A Day To Remember • “End Of Me”
  • Fall Out Boy • “Centuries”
  • Modern Baseball • “Your Graduation”
  • PVRIS • “St. Patrick”
  • Set It Off • “Why Worry”

Most Dedicated Fans presented by Fearless Records

  • All Time Low (Hustlers)
  • Crown The Empire (The Runaways)
  • Fall Out Boy (Overcast Kids)
  • Motionless In White (Creatures)
  • Paramore (Parafamily)
  • twenty one pilots (Skeleton Clique)

Best Underground Band presented by Sumerian Records

  • Being As An Ocean
  • The Hotelier
  • Knuckle Puck
  • Major League
  • State Champs
  • Tigers Jaw

Best Vocalist

  • Tyler Carter (Issues)
  • Vic Fuentes (Pierce The Veil)
  • Lynn Gunn (PVRIS)
  • Adam Lazzara (Taking Back Sunday)
  • Jeremy McKinnon (A Day To Remember)
  • Hayley Williams (Paramore)

Best Guitarist

  • Arun Bali (Saves The Day)
  • Jordan Buckley (Every Time I Die)
  • Tony Perry (Pierce The Veil)
  • Kevin Skaff (A Day To Remember)
  • Will Swan (Dance Gavin Dance)
  • Jacky Vincent (Falling In Reverse)

Best Bassist presented by Razor & Tie Records

  • Kyle Fasel (Real Friends)
  • Jeph Howard (The Used)
  • Ryan Jay Johnson (letlive.)
  • Zack Merrick (All Time Low)
  • Devin “Ghost” Sola (Motionless In White)
  • Dallon Weekes (Panic! At The Disco)

Best Drummer presented by DW Drums

  • Cyrus Bolooki (New Found Glory)
  • Rian Dawson (All Time Low)
  • Jake Garland (Memphis May Fire)
  • Adam Gray (Texas In July)
  • Matt Greiner (August Burns Red)
  • Luke Holland (The Word Alive)

Written by Juliet Schroder

Juliet is the founder and executive producer/host of Celeb Secrets and Celeb Secrets Country. When not reporting on the latest news in pop culture and country music, she enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, and exploring the latest fashion trends.

Juliet holds a B.S. in marketing from St. John's University.